Rules Quizzes
PARALYSIS BY ANALYSIS

QUIZZES, QUIZZES AND MORE RULES QUIZZES...

THE QUESTION OF THE WEEK IS...

Practicing during a round
Larry sometimes reminds me of Daly. Great guy, but not always focused or on time. Last week there was a stroke play tournament (w/handicaps) at the club. Larry arrived just in time to check in and get to the tee box and drive the ball, well in his case, advance the ball down the freeway. However, his late arrival meant that he missed the opportunity to warm up and practice. While the rest of the foursome where teeing off, Larry ran over to the driving range across the cart path from the tee box and proceeded to hit a few practice balls to loosen up. After a couple of practice hits, he rejoined the foursome who had just finished their tee shots. Once in the golf cart, one of the playing opponents reminded Larry to post a 1 stoke penalty for practicing during the playing of the hole. Larry protested. Was Larry in breach of any rule? Was a 1 stroke penalty warranted? What is the correct answer below?
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.

Search quiz