"Larry is playing in the local club tournament. His opponent is Tom. On the par-4, 3rd hole, Tom's third shot (a chip to the green) comes to rest 2 feet from the hole. Larry's third shot is also a chip to the green. Larry, who normally couldn't hit the broad side of a barn, lands his ball on the green with the ball rolling on-line to the hole. Larry's ball, like a cruise missile, heads directly at Tom's ball, hits it, and like a cue ball propels Tom's ball into the hole, cur-plunk. Larry's ball is deflected about 5 feet. Larry who is often referred to as the rules czar states that the Tom's ball is holed (score of 3) and his ball (Larry's ball) is lying three, no penalty and he is putting for par. Tom says he wants to get a ruling from the tournament judge before going further and possibly entering an incorrect score. He thinks Larry should incur a 2 stroke penalty and play from where his ball lies and that he (Tom) is not entitled to the gift drop into the cup, but rather should be required to place his ball back at the previous position and put for par.
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.