Rules Quiz Index Ball Moved, Deflected or Stopped Your ball hits another ball. You are off the green.
Rules Quizzes
PARALYSIS BY ANALYSIS

QUIZZES, QUIZZES AND MORE RULES QUIZZES...

THE QUESTION OF THE WEEK IS...

Your ball hits another ball. You are off the green.
"Larry and Bob are playing a round of golf (Stroke Play). Bob has taken his shot and his ball is laying at rest ahead of Larry. When Larry hits his ball, it eventually rolls right into Bob's ball. Both balls deflect from the point of impact. In this scenario, the ball Larry was hitting was not on the green. Bob’s ball may or may not have been on the green. This could mean that Larry's shot was a tee shot, or an approach played into a green or any other possibility other than having both balls on the green prior to Larry making the stroke. For example, Bob hits a tee shot, then Larry hits his ball, and Larry's ball hits Bob's ball in the fairway. Or Bob is on the green, Larry hits an approach shot, and Larry's ball hits Bob's ball on the green. Is there any penalty? What is the correct Ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.

Search quiz